La Sfera Armoniosa | Mike Fentross

Unico Wilhelm Van Wassenaer: VI Concerti Armonici (CD)

Regular price €19,95
Unit price

La Sfera Armoniosa | Mike Fentross

Unico Wilhelm Van Wassenaer: VI Concerti Armonici (CD)

Regular price €19,95
Unit price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

VI Concerti Armonici  (LIVE Recording)


La Sfera Armoniosa | Mike Fentross | Lidewij van der Voort

Challenge Classics / HQ|NORTHSTAR

Catalogue CC72955


Download Booklet PDF



(Low Resolution excerpts)



- "The wonderful play of this ensemble does justice to the quality of this music in every moment" ***** Pizzicato Magazine

- "The sound remains agile, lively and full of tension. The ensemble lives up to its name!" ****NRC


About the Album

Unico Wilhelm van Wassenaer (1692-1766) is one of the most remarkable personalities in Dutch music history. Until 1980, his music - the six ‘Concerti armonici’ - was well known to every lover of early music, but not his name. These works were universally understood to be by Giovanni Battista Pergolesi or by Carlo Ricciotti, who published them in 1740 but did not compose them. Unico Wilhelm van Wassenaer was well known to Dutch historians as a descendant of the renowned noble Van Wassenaer family, but nobody knew that he was also a composer. Thanks to a lucky find by the Dutch musicologist Albert Dunning in 1980, man and music could be connected with one another. In 1740, a collection of six concertos for strings and basso continuo, was published in The Hague under the title VI Concerti armonici. The Concerti armonici can be associated with musical performances that took place in the 1720s in The Hague.

Album Tracks

01. Concerto Armonico I: I. Grave 
02. Concerto Armonico I: II. Allegro
03. Concerto Armonico I: III. Un poco andante
04. Concerto Armonico I: IV. Allegro
05. Concerto Armonico II: I. Largo andante
06. Concerto Armonico II: II. Da capella presto
07. Concerto Armonico II: III. Largo affettuoso
08. Concerto Armonico II: IV. Allegro moderato
09. Concerto Armonico III: I. Grave sostenuto
10. Concerto Armonico III: II. Da capella - Andante mordante
11. Concerto Armonico III: III. Largo andante
12. Concerto Armonico III: IV. Vivace
13. Concerto Armonico IV: I. Largo
14. Concerto Armonico IV: II. Da capella non presto
15. Concerto Armonico IV: III. Largo affettuoso
16. Concerto Armonico IV: IV. Allegro
17. Concerto Armonico V: I. Adagio- Largo
18. Concerto Armonico V: II. Da capella
19. Concerto Armonico V: III. Con sordini
20. Concerto Armonico V: IV. A tempo giusto
21. Concerto Armonico VI: I. Affettuoso
22. Concerto Armonico VI: II. Presto
23. Concerto Armonico VI: III. Largo
24. Concerto Armonico VI: IV. Vivace

Also available

If you like this production, you also might like the following recordings hereunder in the Related products section.

Sign up for our Newsletter
Get informed frequently about discounts, new releases, new recordings and receive the following welcome voucher code of €10,-: MT+3D9.1DXD