La Sfera Armoniosa

La Sfera Armoniosa: Symphony While The Swans Come Forward (Download)

Regular price €30,95
Unit price

La Sfera Armoniosa

La Sfera Armoniosa: Symphony While The Swans Come Forward (Download)

Regular price €30,95
Unit price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Symphony While The Swans Come Forward

Mike Fentross / Johannette Zomer / La Sfera Armoniosa

Challenge Classics / HQ|NORTHSTAR

Catalogue CC72783


Download Booklet PDF



(Low Resolution excerpts)


About the Album

La Sfera Armoniosa, founded in 1992, is a Dutch Baroque ensemble and orchestra specialized in the performance of music from the seventeenth and eighteenth century. Artistic director and conductor is Mike Fentross. Mike Fentross: I was really moved when I heard my orchestra play the opening bars of the Purcell. I heard a sound that was quite different to what I knew from other present-day baroque orchestras. Was this sound closer to that of Purcell's own orchestra, a sound that he may have had in mind when composing this wondrous music? In the very first chat I had about this project with Lidewij van der Voort, our new concertmaster, we talked about the modern adaptations that are often (and understandably) applied to baroque instruments nowadays, and about the possibility of going back to authentic strings (completely bare gut) and a 17th century bow hold (the French grip) for this Purcell project. As it happens, I'd had a similar conversation not long before that with Lidewei de Sterck, our principal oboist, about authentic reeds (scraped from the inside) and with Graham Nicholson, about 17th century trumpets (natural trumpets with no finger holes). These aspects, seemingly just details, have a major impact not just on the sound but also the way of playing and therefore on the way we interpret the music. We all felt the need to record this CD with these 'experimental' instruments. An orchestral sound with so much transparency and colour, a way of playing with such narrative power! I'm full of admiration for the musicians who played so beautifully and who were prepared to take up the challenge of moving away from a well-trodden path.


Album tracks

  1. The Prophetess Symphony for trumpets and violins

  2. First Music

  3. What shall I do to show her how much I love her

  4. Butterfly Dance

  5. Dance of the Furies

  6. Since from my dear

  7. Tune for the trumpets

  8. Canaries

  9. The Indian Queen Air

  10. I attempt from love´s sickness

  11. Hornpipe

  12. King Arthur Ouverture

  13. First Act tune

  14. Hornpipe

  15. Fairest Isle

  16. Sonnerie de trompettes

  17. St. George, the patron of our Isle

  18. Chaconne

  19. The Fairy Queen Preludio

  20. Hornpipe

  21. Air

  22. Rondeau

  23. Ouverture

  24. If love´s a sweet passion

  25. Overture for trumpets

  26. Ye gentle spirits of the air

  27. Dance for the followers of the night

  28. See even night herself is here

  29. Air

  30. Hark! The ech'ing air

  31. Chaconne


Also available

If you like this production, you also might like the following recordings hereunder in the Related products section.

Sign up for our Newsletter
Get informed frequently about discounts, new releases, new recordings and receive the following welcome voucher code of €10,-: MT+3D9.1DXD. By subscribing you also will be added to the TSoT Loyalty Membership program.