Christoph Prégardien / Michael Gees

Schubert: Die schöne Müllerin (SACD)

Regular price €19,95
Unit price

Christoph Prégardien / Michael Gees

Schubert: Die schöne Müllerin (SACD)

Regular price €19,95
Unit price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Franz Schubert – Die Schöne Müllerin

Christoph Prégardien | Michael Gees

Challenge Classics / HQ|NORTHSTAR

Catalogue CC72292


Download Booklet PDF



(Low Resolution excerpts)

About the Album

In many details, the first edition of the cycle, which appeared in 1824, is unreliable – and this was soon apparent. When Anton Diabelli in 1830, one and a half years after Schubert’s death, acquired the rights of the cycle, he strove to improve the edition. Diabelli asked the famous singer Johann Michael Vogl, who had been a friend of Schubert, to arrange the vocal part in such a way that it would create the most possible resonance with the public. And this he did: he added – albeit sparingly – some embellishments he had sung himself, when Schubert accompanied him. In many places he saw fit to simplify a few things that he would not have expected of domestic music makers. Vogl and Diabelli had great success with this edition, which quickly superseded the original one.

In the course of the incipient Schubert researches of the second half of the 19th century the original edition was compared with Diabelli’s, and the “Fälschungen” (falsifications) were soon condemned (Max Friedlaender). Unquestionably, it is fair to say that Vogl’s “simplifications” are in fact inadmissible changes. But what about the embellishments?

Vogl’s embellishments for Die schöne Müllerin had a decidedly chamber-music character. Had he performed the whole cycle as a dramatic song cycle in the concert hall, this would undoubtedly have changed. But this shows us something essential: embellishments belong to the realm of performance, not of composition; each singer should invent them anew in keeping with the occasion of a performance. They do not belong in a printed edition, as they bind the singer; when printed they in fact become “falsifications”. That said, a performance practice that aims to be “historic” should not renounce embellishments either. The embellishments that Christoph Prégardien sings here take as their point of departure the type of embellishments preserved in Diabelli’s print (and in a few manuscripts), but where the singer introduces them and how he shapes them in each case is up to his own invention.

Album tracks

  1. Das Wandern

  2. Wohin?

  3. Halt!

  4. Danksagung An Den Bach

  5. Am Feierabend

  6. Der Neugierige

  7. Ungeduld

  8. Morgengruß

  9. Des Müllers Blumen

  10. Tränenregen

  11. Mein!

  12. Pause

  13. Mit Dem Grünen Lautenbande

  14. Der Jäger

  15. Eifersucht Und Stolz

  16. Die Liebe Farbe

  17. Die Böse Farbe

  18. Trockne Blumen

  19. Der Müller Und Der Bach

  20. Des Baches Wiegenlied


Also available

If you like this production, you also might like the following recordings hereunder in the Related products section.

Sign up for our Newsletter
Get informed frequently about discounts, new releases, new recordings and receive the following welcome voucher code of €10,-: MT+3D9.1DXD. By subscribing you also will be added to the TSoT Loyalty Membership program.