La Petite Bande | Sigiswald Kuijken

Monteverdi: Vespro della Beata Vergine (Download)

Regular price €16,95
Unit price

La Petite Bande | Sigiswald Kuijken

Monteverdi: Vespro della Beata Vergine (Download)

Regular price €16,95
Unit price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Claudio Monteverdi – Vespro della Beate Vergine

La Petite Bande

Sigiswald Kuijken

Challenge Classics / HQ|NORTHSTAR

Catalogue CC72311


Download Booklet PDF



(Low Resolution excerpts)



About the Album

Monteverdi’s “Vespro della Beata Vergine” was published in 1610, together with his “Missa in illo tempore”. This edition is his first important collection of music for the Catholic service.

There is much uncertainty about how this “Vespro” came into being. In fact, this is a collection of various pieces which were most likely not conceived together with the goal of creating a self-contained unity; there are for example two Magnificat compositions in a row; of course only one of these should be chosen by the performer.

The manner of performance of this sort of music could vary strongly in the time, even within the prevailing conventions; however, in his 1610 edition, Monteverdi gave many concrete instructions regarding vocal and instrumental setting, which actually makes the choices more limited in this case. In our performance, I have chosen to follow these instructions completely; even if that means for example that some instruments are seldom used. (In fact, this also seems to indicate a certain degree of independence among the musical fragments.) The vocal parts are therefore always in a solo setting, one per part; the ten vocalists each have a specific individual role. A performance with a choir (wherein the parts would be doubled or trebled in the polyphonic pieces) is certainly a possibility – although Monteverdi’s instructions in the score seem to indicate a setting for solo voices, which in my opinion also can facilitate more pronounced and individualized expression.

Consistent with the composer’s instructions about instrumentation, many fragments are accompanied only by the organ. Some fragments indicate precise instrumental combinations, and others have only the summary indication “con stromenti” (“with instruments”, without precise indications about which), or even “con stromenti, si placet” (with instuments, as one wishes); these last two directions require the performer to make his own choices, which is completely in keeping with the spirit of the times.

Album tracks

  1. Domine Ad Adjuvandum Me

  2. Dixit Dominus, Psalm 109

  3. Nigra Sum

  4. Laudate Pueri À 8, Psalm 112

  5. Pulchra Es

  6. Laetatus Sum, Psalm 121

  7. Duo Seraphim

  8. Nisi Dominus À 10, Psalm 126

  9. Audi Coelum À 6

  10. Lauda Jerusalem, Psalm 147

  11. Sonata Sopra Sancta Maria

  12. Ave Maris Stella À 8

  13. Magnificat À 7: Magnificat

  14. Magnificat À 7: Et Exultabit

  15. Magnificat À 7: Quia Respexit

  16. Magnificat À 7: Quia Fecit

  17. Magnificat À 7: Et Misericordia À 6

  18. Magnificat À 7: Fecit Potentiam

  19. Magnificat À 7: Deposuit

  20. Magnificat À 7: Esurientes

  21. Magnificat À 7: Suscepit Israel

  22. Magnificat À 7: Sicut Locutus

  23. Magnificat À 7: Gloria Patri

  24. Magnificat À 7: Sicut Erat


Also available

If you like this production, you also might like the following recordings hereunder in the Related products section.

Sign up for our Newsletter
Get informed frequently about discounts, new releases, new recordings and receive the following welcome voucher code of €10,-: MT+3D9.1DXD. By subscribing you also will be added to the TSoT Loyalty Membership program.