Jan Willem de Vriend / NSO

Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 2 "Lobgesang" (SACD)

Regular price €20,95
Unit price

Jan Willem de Vriend / NSO

Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 2 "Lobgesang" (SACD)

Regular price €20,95
Unit price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Felix Mendelssohn – Symphony No. 2 “Lobgesang”

The Netherlands Symphony Orchestra

Jan Willem de Vriend

Challenge Classics / HQ|NORTHSTAR

Catalogue CC72543



Download Booklet PDF



(Low Resolution excerpts)




About the Album

A new theme in the discography of The Netherlands Symphony Orchestra and conductor Jan Willem de Vriend: Mendelssohn's Symphonies!

Perhaps this is a form of awakening: the dawning of the rediscovery and re-appreciation of Mendelssohn. Jan Willem de Vriend and his orchestra make their contribution to this. Ferdinand David, the concertmaster of the Gewandhaus Orchester and a friend of Mendelssohn’s, was played a role in the first publications of sonatas by Mozart, Beethoven, Schumann and many other composers. He provided the fingerings and bowings for these editions. De Vriend got copies of the editions and closely studied them, learning much about how music was played at that time. Through this, he and his orchestra more fully assimilated Mendelssohn and have their own Mendelssohn. This CD will surely become your own Mendelssohn. Enjoy the music.

"Mendelssohn's Lobgesang is undoubtedly the greatest work that has proceeded from any German composer since Beethoven. It is great in plan, great in development, and masterly in detail." (From: Annual report - Sacred Harmonic Society London (1844)) That Lobgesang was nevertheless forgotten, despite its qualities and reviews such as the previous, is largely due to comparisons with Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony, which immediately sprang up, and the large vocal portion of the work. The comparison – see below – was unfavourable for Mendelssohn. Let alone that every symphony, regardless of who wrote it, was compared with Beethoven’s masterpieces.

Album tracks

  1. Maestoso Con Moto, Allegro

  2. Allegretto Un Poco Agitato

  3. Adagio Religioso

  4. Allegro Moderato Maestoso, Animato

  5. Allegro Di Molto

  6. Molto Più Moderato Ma Con Fuoco

  7. Recitativo

  8. Allegro Moderato

  9. A Tempo Moderato

  10. Andante

  11. Allegro Un Poco Agitato

  12. Allegro Assai Agitato

  13. Tempo 1, Moderato

  14. Allegro Maestoso E Molto Vivace

  15. Andante Con Moto

  16. Un Poco Più Animato

  17. Andante Sostenuto Assai

  18. Allegro Non Troppo

  19. Più Vivace

  20. Maestoso Como Tempo Primo


Also available

If you like this production, you also might like the following recordings hereunder in the Related products section.

Sign up for our Newsletter
Get informed frequently about discounts, new releases, new recordings and receive the following welcome voucher code of €10,-: MT+3D9.1DXD