Rolf Martinsson

Martinsson: St. Luke Passion (2 DISCS Download)

Regular price €32,95
Unit price

Rolf Martinsson

Martinsson: St. Luke Passion (2 DISCS Download)

Regular price €32,95
Unit price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Martinsson: St. Luke Passion

Lisa Larsson


Catalogue DAPHNE1066


Download Booklet PDF



(Low Resolution excerpts)



About the Album

In 2011 Rolf Martinsson, one of Sweden’s internationally as well as nationally most recognized contemporary composers, received a request from 12 Swedish choirs, in collaboration with the study organisation Sensus, to compose a sacred work. As is well known Sweden has a rich choral tradition and the intention of the new work, based on the Bible’s Gospel of St. Luke contrasted with contemporary texts by Göran Greider, was that it should be accessible and affordable to most choirs in the country. This resulted in a St. Luke Passion for choir, smaller instrumental ensemble (six instruments only), two soloists (soprano – Evangelist, baritone – Jesus) and a Narrator. The composer has kept the choral as well as instrumental parts on a manageable technical level, whilst the solo parts demand professional interpreters. Martinsson has chosen to highlight the drama of the story by painting the Bible texts in the style of a Baroque Passion, whereas he mirrors Greider’s texts in his own musical language. This dramatic tension has engaged audiences, as well as inspired interpreters, since the 12 co-commissioning choirs held their respective premiers in spring 2012. As of spring 2020 this composition has already been performed over 70 times in Sweden and is now considered an important addition to the Swedish choral repertoire. Based on its success, Gehrmans Musikförlag is planning to publish a German version (2021) of Martinsson’s Passion for international distribution. The composer has dedicated the St. Luke Passion to Kettil Skarby, former CEO of Gehrmans Musikförlag, initiato and true protagonist of this work.

Album tracks

  1. 01 Inledning - kör - Jerusalem, i staden utan hopp
  2. 02 Kör a capella - Gul och vit och röd!
  3. 03 Läsning - Nu nármade sig det osyrade brödets högtid
  4. 04 Mellanspel
  5. 05 Recitativ - och solo När stunden var inne
  6. 06 Solo - Alltid skall vi vända ater
  7. 07 Dialog - Simon, Simon
  8. 08 Solo och kör - Om nagon sarar mig
  9. 09 Recitativ och solo - Sedan gick Jesus ut ut staden
  10. 10 Duett I - Getsemane
  11. 11 Recitativ och dialog - Medan Jesus ännu talade
  12. 12 Talkör - Mörkret har makten
  13. 13 Recitativ och dialog - De grep Jesus
  14. 14 Mellanspel och solo Vi vet sa litet om oss själva
  15. 15 Soli och koral - Ljuset kommer först
  16. 16 Solo och kör - Öppna en väg för ljuset
  17. 01 Recitativ, dialog och kör - Alla de församlade bröt nu upp
  18. 02 Kör - Pontius Pilatus star inför Jesus
  19. 03 Läsning - När Herodus sag Jesus
  20. 04 Mellanspel
  21. 05 Solo - Maria Magdalena
  22. 06 Kör a cappella - Gul och vit och röd!
  23. 07 Recitativ, solo och kör - Pilatus kallade samman
  24. 08 Damkör, soli och koral - I staden, rövad pa all frid
  25. 09 Recitativ, körer och solo - När de förde bort Jesus
  26. 10 Kör och koral - Se pa honom nu
  27. 11 Recitativ och dialog - Den ene av förbrytarna
  28. 12 Mellanspel
  29. 13 Läsning - Nu fanns det en radsherre
  30. 14 Damkör och solo - Fran Galileens minsta byar
  31. 15 Avslutning - kör och soli - Dagarna är langa 

Also available

If you like this production, you also might like the following recordings hereunder in the Related products section.

Sign up for our Newsletter
Get informed frequently about discounts, new releases, new recordings and receive the following welcome voucher code of €10,-: MT+3D9.1DXD. By subscribing you also will be added to the TSoT Loyalty Membership program.