Tania Kross

Tania Kross: Krossover (Download)

Regular price $28.00
Unit price

Tania Kross

Tania Kross: Krossover (Download)

Regular price $28.00
Unit price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Krossover – Opera Revisited

The Netherlands Symphony Orchestra

Tania Kross | Jurjen Hempel

Challenge Classics / HQ|NORTHSTAR

Catalogue CC72613


Download Booklet PDF



(Low Resolution excerpts)





About the Album

“New music for a new audience, melodies that people could relate to.”

This was Tania Kross’ goal when she started her new project Krossover. In this project she takes classical music back to the larger audience.The compositions are not what you expect from an opera album. Instead of taking existing, famous opera works, Tania asked the composers of today’s popular music to write the music for the project. The result is breathtaking, classical music which touches you from the start!

Once upon a time the music that we now label as ‘classical’ was the popular music of the day. It was only in the second half of the 20th century that the so called contemporary music became so abstract  that the connection with the general public got lost along the way. During her career Tania experienced that audiences still love a beautiful melody. She started looking for an idea that would bring classical music back to where it belongs: the people. “Wouldn’t it be great to create a cultural environment in which going to the opera would be as natural as going to see the new James Bond movie?”, she thought. That was the moment she decided to ask Huub van der Lubbe, Spinvis, Ruben Hein, Robert Jan Stips, Lucky Fonz III, Marinus de Goederen, Martijn van Agt, Martin Fondse, Martijn Konijnenburg and Odilo Girod. As a producer she asked Reyn Ouwehand, a producer who worked with popular Dutch bands like Kane. Bob Zimmerman proved to be the perfect arranger to translate these pop songs to the language of the symphony orchestra.

Album tracks

  1. Mea culpa    Reyn Ouwehand, Marinus de Goederen

  2. O mar
    Martin Fondse

  3. Golden Leaves
    Odilo Girod, Reyn Ouwehand

  4. Undyed
    Ruben Hein

  5. Rebiba
    Lucky Fonz III

  6. Nichts macht mehr Sinn
    Martijn Konijnenburg

  7. To the End of the World
    Odilo Girod

  8. Not A Some Time Thing
    Robert Jan Stips

  9. Go slow
    Martijn van Agt

  10. Voor geen goud
    Huub van der Lubbe

  11. Vivo
    Martijn Konijnenburg

  12. Nocturne

  13. The Wedding Night
    Ruben Hein


Also available

If you like this production, you also might like the following recordings hereunder in the Related products section.

Sign up for our Newsletter
Get informed frequently about discounts, new releases, new recordings and receive the following welcome voucher code of €10,-: MT+3D9.1DXD