La Sfera Armoniosa | Mike Fentross

Hellendaal: 6 Grand Concertos Op.3 (CD)

Regular price €19,95
Unit price

La Sfera Armoniosa | Mike Fentross

Hellendaal: 6 Grand Concertos Op.3 (CD)

Regular price €19,95
Unit price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

6 Grand Concertos Op.3 (LIVE Recording)

Pieter Hellendaal

La Sfera Armoniosa | Mike Fentross | Lidewij van der Voort

Challenge Classics / HQ|NORTHSTAR

Catalogue CC72911


Download Booklet PDF


(Low Resolution excerpts)



About the Album

 Eighteenth-century London musical life was strongly oriented towards Italian music, with Arcangelo Corelli as the prime example. Corelli never visited England, but his music was heard everywhere, at home and on the concert stage. Handel and Geminiani, who composed in a style based on Corelli’s work, took full advantage of this ‘Corellimania’.

No wonder, then, that also foreign composers living in England were inspired by the work of the big three and continued their formula for success. Among these continuators (which sounds better than followers) Pieter Hellendaal must be counted.

Hellendaal was born in 1721 in Rotterdam as the son of a candle maker. Around 1740 he was in Padua for a while to be trained as a violinist and composer with Giuseppe Tartini, Europe’s most famous violin teacher. Hellendaal then settled in Amsterdam, nevertheless chose to leave for London in 1751, presumably with the hope of greater fame and income.

The London period lasted from 1751 to 1760. His Six Grand Concertos were issued in 1758 by the London music publisher John Walsh. Later, in Cambridge, Hellendaal was appointed organist of Pembroke Hall Chapel in 1762 and he would spend the rest of his life, a time span of almost forty years, in the city. He died in 1799, aged 78.

The Six Grand Concertos of 1758 are his only known works for orchestra. The characteristic of such a ‘grand concerto’ – a translation of the Italian concerto grosso – is the distinction between solo and tutti parts. In Hellendaal’s Grand Concertos there are four soloists, two violinists, an alto player, and a cellist, who together form the concertino.

Hellendaal certainly took the work of his three illustrious predecessors Corelli, Handel and Geminiani as a starting point, but he added a completely individual interpretation to it. The result is a set of six masterpieces.

Album Tracks

1 Concerto I in G Minor I. Ouverture
2 Concerto I in G Minor II. Fuga
3 Concerto I in G Minor III. Largo
4 Concerto I in G Minor IV. Presto
5  Concerto I in G Minor V. Menuetto
6  Concerto II in D Minor I. Ouverture
7  Concerto II in D Minor II. Allegro
8  Concerto II in D Minor III. Affettuoso
9  Concerto II in D Minor IV. Presto
10  Concerto II in D Minor V. Borea
11  Concerto III in F Major I. Ouverture
12  Concerto III in F Major II. Allegro
13  Concerto III in F Major III. Adagio
14  Concerto III in F Major IV. Alla breve
15  Concerto III in F Major V. March
16  Concerto IV in E-flat Major I. Grave sostenuto
17  Concerto IV in E-flat Major II. Alla breve
18  Concerto IV in E-flat Major III. Affettuoso
19  Concerto IV in E-flat Major IV. Presto
20  Concerto IV in E-flat Major V. Pastorale
21  Concerto V in D Major I. Largo
22  Concerto V in D Major II. Allegro
23  Concerto V in D Major III. Larghetto
24  Concerto V in D Major IV. Allegro
25  Concerto V in D Major V. March
26  Concerto VI in F Major I. Ouverture
27  Concerto VI in F Major II. Allegro
28  Concerto VI in F Major III. Adagio
29  Concerto VI in F Major IV. Allegro
30  Concerto VI in F Major V. Largo
31  Concerto VI in F Major VI. Menuet

Also available

If you like this production, you also might like the following recordings hereunder in the Related products section.

Sign up for our Newsletter
Get informed frequently about discounts, new releases, new recordings and receive the following welcome voucher code of €10,-: MT+3D9.1DXD. By subscribing you also will be added to the TSoT Loyalty Membership program.