La Petite Bande | Sigiswald Kuijken

Bach: Matthäus-Passion (TRIPLE SACD)

Regular price $30.00
Unit price

La Petite Bande | Sigiswald Kuijken

Bach: Matthäus-Passion (TRIPLE SACD)

Regular price $30.00
Unit price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Johann Sebastian Bach – Matthäus-Passion

La Petite Bande

Sigiswald Kuijken

Challenge Classics / HQ|NORTHSTAR

Catalogue CC72357


Download Booklet PDF



(Low Resolution excerpts)

About the Album

Magnificent and transparent, a recording of the famous masterpiece by J.S. Bach by La Petite Bande and Sigiswald Kuijken. The ensemble has a worldwide reputation of aiming for the most authentic sound possible. Again Kuijken and his group of musicians and vocalists have achieved this the most sublime way!

Sigiswald Kuijken knows the St. Matthew Passion through and through. With La Petite Bande he gave performances of the work all over the world. Twenty years ago La Petite Bande (at that time with conductor Gustav Leonhardt and Kuijken as concertmaster) made their first recording of the Passion. It was a recording with soloists, a chamberchoir and an orchestral composition which was adjusted to that. Since then Kuijken's vision on this masterpiece has changed very much. Ground-breaking musicological work of the last decades has brought him to a serious thin-out of his ensemble without the use of a conductor. There is not a real choir anymore, because the soloists perform also the choirparts. The boyschoir that is usually used in most performances of this Passion is replaced here by a single soprano voice!

Additionally, by using authentic instruments and the original way of playing them, both in interpretation and sound quality, La Petite Bande strives to revive baroque music as faithfully as possible without lapsing into rigid academics.



Album Tracks

  1. Chori: Kommt, Ihr Töchter, Helft Mir Klagen

  2. Recitativo (Evangelista, Jesus): Da Jesus Diese Rede Vollendet Hatte

  3. Choral: Herzliebster Jesu, Was Hast Du Verbrochen

  4. Recitativo (Evangelista): Da Versammleten Sich Die Hohenpriester

  5. Recitativo (Alto): Du Lieber Heiland Du

  6. Aria (Alto): Buß Und Reu

  7. Recitativo (Evangelista, Judas): Da Ging Hin Der Zwölfen Einer

  8. Aria (Soprano): Blute Nur, Du Liebes Herz!

  9. Recitativo (Evangelista): Aber Am Ersten Tage Der Süßen Brot

  10. Choral: Ich Bin’s, Ich Sollte Büßen

  11. Recitativo (Evangelista, Jesus): Er Antwortete Und Sprach

  12. Recitativo (Soprano): Wiewohl Mein Herz In Tränen Schwimmt

  13. Aria (Soprano): Ich Will Dir Mein Herze Schenken

  14. Recitativo (Evangelista, Jesus): Und Da Sie Den Lobgesang

  15. Choral: Erkenne Mich, Mein Hüter

  16. Recitativo (Evangelista, Jesus, Petrus): Petrus Aber Antwortete

  17. Choral: Ich Will Hier Bei Dir Stehen

  18. Recitativo (Evangelista, Jesus): Da Kam Jesus Mit Ihnen Zu Einem Hofe

  19. Recitativo (Tenore): O Schmerz!; Choral (Chorus II): Was Ist Die Ursach

  20. Aria (Tenore, Chorus II): Ich Will Bei Meinem Jesu Wachen

  21. Recitativo (Evangelista, Jesus): Und Ging Hin Ein Wenig

  22. Recitativo (Basso): Der Heiland Fällt Vor Seinem Vater Nieder

  23. Aria (Basso): Gerne Will Ich Mich Bequemen

  24. Recitativo (Evangelista, Jesus): Und Er Kam Zu Seinen Jüngern

  25. Choral: Was Mein Gott Will, Das G’scheh Allzeit

  26. Recitativo (Evangelista, Jesus, Judas): Und Er Kam Und Fand Sie Aber Schlafend

  27. Aria (Soprano, Alto - Chorus II): So Ist Mein Jesus Nun Gefangen

  28. Recitativo (Evangelista, Jesus): Und Siehe, Einer Aus Denen

  29. Choral: O Mensch, Bewein Dein Sünde Groß

  30. Aria (Alto, Chorus II): Ach! Nun Ist Mein Jesus Hin!

  31. Recitativo (Evangelista): Die Aber Jesum Gegriffen Hatten

  32. Choral: Mir Hat Die Welt Trüglich Gericht’

  33. Recitativo (Evangelista, Pontifex): Und Wiewohl Viel Falsche Zeugen

  34. Recitativo (Tenore): Mein Jesus Schweigt

  35. Aria (Tenore): Geduld!

  36. Recitativo (Evangelista, Pontifex, Jesus): Und Der Hohepriester Antwortete

  37. Choral: Wer Hat Dich So Geschlagen

  38. Recitativo (Evangelista, Ancilla I, II, Petrus): Petrus Aber Saß Draußen Im Palast

  39. Aria (Alto): Erbarme Dich

  40. Choral: Bin Ich Gleich Von Dir Gewichen

  41. Recitativo (Evangelista, Judas): Des Morgens Aber Hielten

  42. Aria (Basso): Gebt Mir Meinen Jesum Wieder!

  43. Recitativo (Evangelista, Pilatus, Jesus): Sie Hielten Aber Einen Rat

  44. Choral: Befiehl Du Deine Wege

  45. Recitativo (Evangelista, Pilatus, Uxor Pilati, Chorus): Auf Das Fest Aber

  46. Choral: Wie Wunderbarlich Ist Doch Diese Strafe!

  47. Recitativo (Soprano): Er Hat Uns Allen Wohlgetan

  48. Aria (Soprano): Aus Liebe

  49. Recitativo (Evangelista): Sie Schrieen Aber Noch Mehr

  50. Recitativo (Alto): Erbarm Es Gott!

  51. Aria (Alto): Können Tränen Meiner Wangen

  52. Recitativo (Evangelista): Da Nahmen Die Kriegsknechte

  53. Choral: O Haupt Voll Blut Und Wunden

  54. Recitativo (Evangelista): Und Da Sie Ihn Verspottet Hatten

  55. Recitativo (Basso): Ja Freilich Will In Uns Das Fleisch Und Blut

  56. Aria (Basso): Komm, Süßes Kreuz

  57. Recitativo (Evangelista): Und Da Sie An Die Stätte Kamen

  58. Recitativo (Alto): Ach Golgatha

  59. Aria (Alto, Chorus II): Sehet, Jesus Hat Die Hand

  60. Recitativo (Evangelista, Jesus): Und Von Der Sechsten Stunde An

  61. Choral: Wenn Ich Einmal Soll Scheiden

  62. Recitativo (Evangelista): Und Siehe Da, Der Vorhang

  63. Recitativo (Basso): Am Abend, Da Es Kühle War

  64. Aria (Basso): Mache Dich, Mein Herze, Rein

  65. Recitativo (Evangelista): Und Joseph Nahm Den Leib

  66. Recitativo (Basso, Tenore, Alto, Soprano - Chorus II): Nun Ist Der Herr Zur Ruh Gebracht

  67. Chori: Wir Setzen Uns Mit Tränen Nieder


Additional photos: Brendon Heinst

Also available

If you like this production, you also might like the following recordings hereunder in the Related products section.

Sign up for our Newsletter
Get informed frequently about discounts, new releases, new recordings and receive the following welcome voucher code of €10,-: MT+3D9.1DXD. By subscribing you also will be added to the TSoT Loyalty Membership program.